Mammillaria Society Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Mammillaria Society Forum

Discussion Forum about Mammillaria, Coryphantha and Escobaria

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Help With Sickly M. Rhodantha

Go down 
AuthorMessage

Help With Sickly M. Rhodantha  Empty
PostSubject: Help With Sickly M. Rhodantha    Help With Sickly M. Rhodantha  Icon_minitimeSat Feb 17, 2018 3:58 pm

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post to forums and I'm happy that there exists a community devoted to mammillaria. I am new to the world of cactus and am fascinated by the few I currently have.

When I was purchasing a few from a vendor there was a M. Rhodantha that was given to me for free because the vendor said it wasn't doing well. I of course scooped up a free plant but forgot to ask exactly what was wrong with it. Here is a picture of it.

Help With Sickly M. Rhodantha  Screen10

To me it seems like it is just dried out? I'm not sure why it is also super fuzzy underneath the prickers.

Can anyone help me figure out what is wrong with it and how I can try and rescue it? It looks like it was flowering at one point but they are all withered now.

Thank you in advance!
Back to top Go down
Chris43
Chris43

Number of posts : 1872
Registration date : 2008-07-16

PostSubject: Re: Help With Sickly M. Rhodantha    Help With Sickly M. Rhodantha  Icon_minitimeTue Feb 20, 2018 7:54 am

It's a little difficult to see detail from your photo, but let me make a start.
First thing I'd do is to unpot it, and get rid of all the existing compost so you can see the roots and the neck of the plant. Check the roots and the body of the plant for bugs. Most common is mealy bug mite.If there are some.then use an insecticide to kill them.