Mammillaria Society Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Mammillaria Society Forum

Discussion Forum about Mammillaria, Coryphantha and Escobaria

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Can anyone assist in the name of this please

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage

Can anyone assist in the name of this please Empty
PostSubject: Can anyone assist in the name of this please   Can anyone assist in the name of this please Icon_minitimeThu Jan 22, 2009 10:21 pm

Hi everyone,
Can anyone assist with this one? Probably common but as a newbie I cannot find any mamm that looks similar. It is solitory and 13cm high & 10 Cm diameter.Can anyone assist in the name of this please Unknow12
Back to top Go down

PostSubject: Re: Can anyone assist in the name of this please   Can anyone assist in the name of this please Icon_minitimeFri Jan 23, 2009 1:27 pm

Hard to say. Has close as I can get, it could be one of the many forms of M albilanata oaxacana. The expanded description in Pilbeam ( page 34) calls for central spines 1-6, 4-7mm long, glassy white, tipped brown. Radial spines 13-27. Flowers carmine-pink, stigmas greenish. High, 12cm at most.
Back to top Go down

PostSubject: Re: Can anyone assist in the name of this please   Can anyone assist in the name of this please Icon_minitimeFri Jan 23, 2009 3:48 pm

Tam, Thanks for the input it had me stumped.
I assume some forms of M albilanata oaxacana do not produce the wool at the top as mine never has, and it only flowers on the top not in a ring round the crown.

Thanks again

Paul
Back to top Go down
Chris43
Chris43

Number of posts : 1872
Registration date : 2008-07-16

PostSubject: Re: Can anyone assist in the name of this please   Can anyone assist in the name of this please Icon_minitimeFri Jan 23, 2009 4:37 pm

Sorry, but the photo doesn't load now, at least for me.