Mammillaria Society Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Mammillaria Society Forum

Discussion Forum about Mammillaria, Coryphantha and Escobaria

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Hi and greetings

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage

Hi and greetings Empty
PostSubject: Hi and greetings   Hi and greetings Icon_minitimeThu Sep 18, 2008 3:15 pm

Hi,
My name is Amante Darmanin. I am 45 years old and married with wife and three daughters aged 16, 13, 9. I also got a female cat named Daisy. She is quite nocturnal and likes to wake me up at night to feed her. I work as a male nurse in an old people's home comprising of about 1000 residents (must be one of the largest in the world)

I have been into cacti since I was about 7 years or younger. I remember taking particular attention to the only cactus we had at home, Echinopsis multiplex. Each time it flowered we would be called by our parents to see the manger-like stamens and the star of Bethlehem, which later I learned to be the stigma of the flower. I started collecting cacti seriously since 1985 when I joined the Cactus and Succulent Society of Malta. I am a committee member of this society and take care of seed distribution. Most of the seed come from my own plants. I am also a member of the Mammillaria society and The British cactus and Succulent society (Cactus World)

I have two greenhouses on our flat roof, one facing south and the other facing North were I house all my collection. Then I got 5 frames (little greenhouse), also on the roof where I house my spare cacti and succulents. Another large greenhouse is on another roof on an empty house belonging to my brother in law where I have several thousand spare cacti and not a room to spare. I raise nearly all my cacti from seed.