Mammillaria Society Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Mammillaria Society Forum

Discussion Forum about Mammillaria, Coryphantha and Escobaria

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Help please!!!

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage

Help please!!! Empty
PostSubject: Help please!!!   Help please!!! Icon_minitimeFri Jul 18, 2014 7:22 pm

Hi...

I need help with the ID of this beauty! I am new with plants and I suspect that it belongs to the genus Mammillaria? If so, what species is this? Also, what is that 'body' that emerged from the side and is this normal?

Help please!!! Dscn0013
Back to top Go down
Chris43
Chris43

Number of posts : 1872
Registration date : 2008-07-16

Help please!!! Empty
PostSubject: Re: Help please!!!   Help please!!! Icon_minitimeSat Jul 19, 2014 1:57 pm

It certainly looks like a Mammillaria, and what a lovely plant!

I'm having difficult coming to a conclusion as to which species, though. My firs thought was M. obconella, because eof the yellowish 4 central spines, but then I saw that there were a lot of shorter radial spines, of which M. obconella (or polythele) doesn't have any. So then I thought about M. rhodantha, and that is probably where I am going towards. It is a very variable species, with lots of subspecies, varieties or forms, some of which are recognised, though many are not.

I hope other people chip in, as beyond that, I would struggle, I'm afraid, though there might e an outside chance that it is a form of M. rekoi.

You've given me a tough one as your first!!

Help please!!! Empty
PostSubject: Re: Help please!!!   Help please!!! Icon_minitimeSat Jul 19, 2014 3:12 pm

Hi Chris!

Yikes!  Shocked